Admission Helpline 24x7: 07087775533, 07087775544, 07087775566, 07087775588


The Department of Physics is established with a vision to provide world class education to the undergraduate and postgraduate students, to meet requirements of civilised manpower in physics for teaching, research and other vocations. Currently, the department offers two year M.Sc. & three year B.Sc. (Hons.) degree in Physics. The Department of Physics also offers Ph.D. programme in various research areas of experimental and theoretical Physics. Department has highly competent and dedicated faculty members with diversity of research interests. Our research spans over theoretical and experimental Condensed Matter Physics, Radiation Physics, High Energy Physics and theoretical Nuclear Structure Physics. The faculty of Physics has various national and international research collaborations. In addition to teaching through modern proficiencies, the seminars, workshops and invited lectures are also an integral part of academic programme of the department.

Sr. No. Name of the Teacher Qualification
1 Dr. A.K. Jain M.Sc.(Distinction), Ph.D. (BHU), Emeritus Fellow IIT-Roorkee
2 Dr. Sarbjit Singh M.Sc., Ph.D. (Mumbai), Scientist (former) Bhabha Atomic Reserach Centre, Mumbai
3 Dr. Sukhjeet Singh M.Sc., Ph.D. (IIT-Roorkee)
4 Dr. Ramandeep Kumar M.Sc. (Hons School), CSIR-JRF, Ph.D. (PU/CERN)
5 Dr. Amandeep Sharma M.Sc., Ph.D. (Punjabi University)
6 Dr. Ramadeep Kaur M.Sc., CSIR-NET, Ph.D. (IIT-Roorkee)
7 Ms. Raman Duddi M.Sc., CSIR-NET
8 Dr. Mandeep Singh Reen M.Sc., GATE , Ph.D. (Japan)
9 Dr. Mrs.Tapasi Das M.Sc., Ph.D. (IIT-Roorkee)
10 Dr. Janpreet Singh M.Sc., CSIR-JRF, Ph.D. (PU)
Course B.Sc. (Hons. School) Physics
Duration 3 years (Semester system)
Seats 30
Fees Rs. 19,000/- per semester
  • 10+2 Non-Medical with 60% marks (55% in case of SC/ST and persons with disability category)
  • Merit based plus admissible weightages for details see
Course M.Sc. Physics
Duration 2 years (Semester system)
Seats 30
Fees Rs. 25,000/- per semester
  • B.Sc. Non-Medical with 60% marks (55% in case of SC/ST and persons with disability category)
  • Merit based plus admissible weightages for details see
Course Ph.D.
Duration 3-5 years
Seats Subject to availability
Fees Rs. 30,000/- per semester
  • Any candidate who has passed the Master’s examination in Physics with a score of not less than 60% or CGPA of 6.0 on a 10 point scale or equivalent (55% or 5.5 CGPA for SC/ST/BC Category) marks in aggregate, or have appeared in the final year examination of Master’s degree in the subject concerned from Akal University, Talwandi Sabo or from any other University (approved by the appropriate Academic Bodies of A.U.), shall be eligible to appear for the Ph.D. Entrance Test.
  • The students who have qualified UGC-CSIR NET/GATE or any similar examination/test conducted by a notified authority of the Government of India for the purpose, will be exempted from Ph.D. entrance test, subject to approval of the Vice-Chancellor.
The major research areas of Physics Department are:
  • Theoretical Nuclear Physics
  • Experimental Nuclear Radiation Physics
  • Condensed Matter Physics
  • Experimental High-Energy Physics
The Individual Faculty collaborations are:

National Collaborations
  • Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Mohali
  • Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Roorkee
  • HBCSE, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR) Mumbai
  • Panjab University, Chandigarh
  • Punjabi University Patiala
  • Central University of Punjab, Bathinda

International Collaborations
  • McMaster University, Canada
(Dr. Sukhjeet Singh Dhindsa)
Incharge, Department of Physics
Akal University, Talwandi Sabo
Contact: +91-8194801454